It must be November….

Dark, dreary, gray sky, and the relentless rain.Yes, it must be November. When people talk about how crappy the weather in Seattle is, generally they’re referring to this month as their benchmark.

Anyway, I wanted to tell you about a cigar that a friend of mine gave me a while back. I’ve never heard of the brand before, but that’s not saying much.

Rio Salonika
Box-pressed, firm dark chocolate wrapper, not a bad looking cigar.
So how did I like it? Meh… it was OK. Draw was lacking, didn’t produce the big plumes of smoke that I like. Taste was different – I didn’t think it was terrible or anything, but my lovely wife commented that she didn’t like the taste at all. There were a couple of burn issues as well, but overall it wasn’t bad enough to put out in the ashtray.
Now had I not had a  J Fuego Gran Reserva Corojo No.1, right after this cigar, I might not have judge it so harshly, but the J Fuego is a truly spectacular smoke in every category – love those cigars!
 
Let me know if you’ve seen or tried the Salonika brand before? 
 
Side Notes: 
We’re going to a little RSVP charity event over at the Vertigo Club tomorrow night – should be fun! Live jazz, cigars, and food – all for a great cause! If you’re going, we’ll see you there!
😉
 
 
2 Responses to “It must be November….”

  1. Marc R. Azous Says:

    I’m honored someone took the time to post a review about my cigar. I have handed out around 200 samples (of the Salonika) and most feedback I’ve received has actually been quite phenominal.

    The ‘Salonika’ has Nicaraguan Filler & Binder, each aged 4 years, and a San Andreas Wrapper, aged 5 years. It is a box-pressed Robusto.

    The ‘Salonika’ is our 2nd cigar. Our third cigar, a Nicaraguan puro, will be out in December.

  2. Thanks for the comments Marc – Honestly, this is a great looking cigar, and I love the feel of the box-press, I just couldn’t warm up to the taste.

    Looking forward to trying the Nicaraguan puro!

Leave a Reply

