Flor de las Antillas

I heard on the radio the other day that it hasn’t rained here in 38 days. I think that was just about the last time I wrote anything for this blog? No big surprise – I find it hard to write if it’s not raining.

🙂

So what’s been happening lately? Well, I’ve smoked a boatload of cigars, that’s for sure, and I’ve also been to a few cigar events as well. The last one was over at Union Cigar Society on Lake Union and it was another fantastic party just like the last time! I think all the who’s-who in the cigar community showed up for it. Really a GREAT time. I even got to meet Kirkland #1’s better half! 😉

Here’s a link to some cool photos that my friend Sir Godfather (10-7 Habanero Club) took at the event. (thanks Herman!)

My Father Cigars @ Union Cigar Society

Speaking of My Father Cigars, I’ve got to tell you about one cigar from these guys that I really seem to like:

Flor de las Antillas 

Toro Gordo 6½ x 56 

..

The first time I smoked this variety was at the My Father Cigars event at the Tobacco Patch in Kirkland not long ago. Excellent mild to medium bodied cigar with a smooth taste and tons of creamy smoke. I really liked it! In fact I would have bought a box, but my humidor is already pretty full, plus the wifey-poo would probably disown me.

In my opinion, this is one of those “anytime of day” cigars. It’s not going to knock you off your feet, but it will deliver an incredibly smooth flavor that you’ll want to come back to again and again. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

So obviously when I read that there was going to be another My Father Cigars event over at the Union Cigar Society, I cleared my calendar and made sure that I’d be there. Great cigars!
BTW, if I put on the blog calendar that the Union Cigar Society is having an event, I encourage you not to miss it, you will not be sorry. Those guys do an outstanding job! (plus it’s free!)

Side note:

On Sunday while I was working on my deck, I heard something moving around out in the woods (greenbelt) behind my house. It sounded like it was traversing the ravine? I thought it might be raccoon at first, but it sounded kinda big, big like maybe a kid or something? From our decks we have a real good view of what’s happening back there and it’s not unusual to see all sorts of small animals and birds, but never humans, so to speak.

This is what peeked its head out of the woods:

Amazing! I’ve lived here for 20 years and I’ve never seen a deer back there… too funny!

Leave a Reply

