Carlos Toraño Virtuoso

A couple photos from the Alec Bradley cigar event on Friday night.

Don Hanes/Alec Bradley Cigars 
Don Hanes and Murad/Owner Tobacco Patch

Event went well – good turn out. I bought a handful of Prensado and Tempus cigars, got a couple AB T-shirts, and of course a few free cigars as well. They had a little raffle at the end of the event for those that had bought stuff, as usual I didn’t win anything, but one of the guys that did was kind enough to share the love and handed out a bunch of cigars to everyone. Nice…

Which brings me to this week’s review…

I bought this cigar down at the Patch a few weeks back, kind of curious how it would compare to some of my favorite Toraños.

Carlos Toraño Virtuoso Maestro 
Churchill 7.0″ x 50

Smoked this on Sunday afternoon down at the Kirkland marina. My lovely bride and I have found the perfect bench down at the end of the dock, it’s basically behind that big blue metal wall where they park the Argosy – blocks the wind perfectly!

Anyway, when I bought this cigar I thought it looked pretty good in the store, although seeing it today in the daylight I noticed that it has a big-ass vein running down the entire length of the back of it. JEEZ…

So what did I think? Meh… It was OK. I’ve got to tell you though that I also smoked a Vault and a Masters over the weekend, so I had a couple very good  Toraño cigars to compare it to. Had I not smoked those two cigars I probably would have rated it higher. One little issue was the draw, had to really puff on the sucker to get the amount of smoke that I like, luckily it did eventually open up, but still didn’t produce the billows of creamy smoke that I was looking for.

Taste was good, not great, medium to full-bodied. Smooth, not creamy, and not the rich taste that both the Vault and Masters display.

Would I buy one again? Probably not, sorry. Too many other Toraños that are far superior. That’s just my opinion though.

Oh well… 

Side notes: 

Kirkland #1 Chris – Sorry I missed you guys Friday night. I couldn’t hang around any longer – 2 cigars is basically my limit. Definitely should have dressed warmer – froze my butt off, along with everyone else I guess. . Hope you found a nice place to eat? 

Nathan – nice meeting you finally! You do indeed know your cigars my friend. We’ll have to get together again soon. (neighbor)

Cigar get-together coming up at my place – I’ll keep you posted on the date.


Leave a Reply

