Punch Rare Corojo 10th Anniversary

Did you happen to see that strange color in the sky the other day? What was it? Blue? ๐Ÿ™‚

A couple of weeks back I smoked a Punch Rare Corojo cigar up at the Lit Lounge – you might recall that my lovely wife picked this one out for me, she thought it was the”prettiest” cigar in the humidor. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, it turned out to be a pretty damn good smoke, and seriously, I’ve never been a fan of Punch cigars!

OK, flash-forward to last Friday night up at the Lit Lounge again – Josh, El Jefe, mentioned that he was saving a Punch Rare Corojo 10th Anniversary cigar for me. Could it be as good as the Rare Corojo? Oh brother, the 10th Anniversary turned out to be even better! What’s up with Punch anyway? How long have they been making cigars like this? You see my problem is that I will sometimes stereotype an entire brand on one cigar. I know, I know, you don’t need to tell me…

Anyway, this was really a superior smoke. If you see one – buy it!

My Rating: 9

Saturday night we were down at the Patch, well I should say that “I” was down at the Patch. My better-half was there for a while, but decided it was too damn cold and went home. She told me that she’d pick me up when I was ready to go. Wow, that was nice!

Quick rundown on what I smoked:

Berger and Argenti Clasico – my friend Chris gave me this cigar a couple of weeks ago when we were down at JnJ Cigars. Not a bad smoke, but it had a little wrapper issue.I can honestly say that it wasn’t half as good as the Punch. Maybe Chris will give me another one to try just to confirm my thoughts?

Murcielago – EO Brands – Now this one I liked. Box pressed, dark wrapper, great feel, but more importantly it was a delicious smoke. Smooth, rich taste, great draw, and loads of smoke, not as good as the Punch, but definitely worth trying!

Sunday – The return of the Oliva Serie G Churchill. After a very busy day of working in the yard, I rewarded myself with a litre bottle of cold Radeberger German beer and one of my “go-to” cigars. What can I say, I like Oliva’s, however, I’m starting to notice my taste-buds shifting towards a more full-bodied cigar. Yes, I’m growing up…

Side note: Thanks for saving me that cigar Josh, and for finding us a nice place to sit on Friday night. Your hospitality is greatly appreciated my friend!

Looking forward to the 27th!

Leave a Reply

